2022 Inductees
page-template-default,page,page-id-22970,theme-stockholm,qode-social-login-1.1.1,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-1.0.3,woocommerce-no-js,select-theme-ver-5.0.5,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.7.0,vc_responsive

2022 Inductees

Montana Outdoor Hall of Fame Class of 2022



Stan Bradshaw, Helena


An expert in environmental law, who worked in the public and nonprofit sectors, Bradshaw played a pivotal role in defending public access to Montana’s rivers and streams. He helped craft Montana’s stream access law and instream flow laws that protect fish habitat in the Bitterroot, Clark Fork, Missouri, and Smith Rivers.


Bruce Bugbee, Missoula


Bugbee played a crucial role in protecting more than 1 million acres in Montana. Working primarily through his American Public Land Exchange company, he used market-based and partnership-driven approaches to create projects agreeable to conservationists and developers.


Harrison G. Fagg, Billings


Fagg, a fiscal conservative and staunch Republican, was a leader on environmental issues in the Montana House of Representatives from 1968 through 1984, serving as majority leader in 1981. In 1970, Fagg successfully championed a law stipulating Montana’s first hard-rock mining reclamation standards.


John G. Gatchell, Helena


Gatchell is the long-time Conservation Director for the Montana Wilderness Association (now Wild Montana). He pioneered historical agreements in which paper and sawmill workers, backcountry horseback riders, outfitters, and snowmobilers worked to protect dozens of Montana wilderness areas.


Kathleen Hadley, Deer Lodge


Hadley worked to get the Clark Fork River designated a Superfund site to restore the river. She co-founded the Clark Fork Coalition and served as a conservation representative on the Clark Fork River Basin Restoration Council. For the past two decades, she has served on the boards of both the Montana Wildlife Federation and the National Wildlife Federation.


Land M. Lindbergh, Greenough


Lindbergh secured one of the state’s first conservation easements on his land in the 1970s. As the first board chair of the Blackfoot Challenge, he addressed problems affecting the Blackfoot River watershed. In addition, he helped establish one of the first private-land hunting-access agreements, a forerunner of Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks’ Block Management Program.


Robert “Bob” Marshall (1901-1939)


Marshall provided the foundation for wilderness protections on 111 million acres of federally managed lands across the country, including the Bob Marshall Wilderness in Montana. Marshall was one of the founders of the Wilderness Society in 1935.


John R. Murray, Browning


Murray established the Blackfeet Tribal Heritage Preservation Office, which led to northwestern Montana’s Badger-Two Medicine designation as a Traditional Cultural District. And that eventually resulted in the removal of oil and gas leases there.


Bradley B. Shepard (1952-2021)


Shepard worked as a Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks fisheries biologist, a Montana State University professor, a senior Wildlife Conservation Society aquatic scientist, and a private consultant. He was instrumental in creating a foundation for cutthroat trout conservation programs throughout Montana and the Western U.S.


Christine Torgrimson, British Columbia, and Barbara Rusmore, Bozeman


Rusmore and Torgrimson founded the Montana Land Reliance in 1978 “to establish a renewable and equitable agricultural way of life in Montana.” The MLR partnered with nearly 1,000 landowners protecting 1.2 million Montana acres, including 1,870 miles of river- and stream banks.


The Three Yayas: Annie Pierre (1900-1975), Louise McDonald (1904-1994), and Christine Woodcock (1910-1986)


The Three Yayas, or grandmothers — Mrs. Pierre, Mrs. McDonald, and Mrs. Woodcock — are known for standing their ground. These Salish cultural leaders wouldn’t leave a 1974 tribal council meeting until leaders tabled plans to log the Mission Mountains. Their courageous action helped bring traditional respect for the land back to the center of tribal policy and led to the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes designating the Mission Mountains as the first tribal wilderness area in the nation.