About MOHF
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-19153,theme-stockholm,qode-social-login-1.1.1,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-1.0.3,woocommerce-no-js,select-theme-ver-5.0.5,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.7,vc_responsive

About MOHF

Learn about us



Montana Outdoor Hall of Fame honors individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to the restoration and conservation of Montana’s wildlife and wild places for the purpose of public awareness and education

The best conservation stories start with a single idea. They develop into history with the foresight and drive of passionate individuals.


The idea for a Montana Outdoor Hall of Fame came when longtime Montana conservationist Jim Posewitz was the banquet speaker for a similar entity in Wyoming in October 2012. Posewitz returned to Montana and tested out his idea with people at The Montana Historical Society and Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks. In 2013, his drive and passion brought conservation nonprofits, foundations, and state agencies together for the purpose of capturing the stories of and educating the public about conservation heroes throughout Montana’s rich history.



Montana Outdoor Hall of Fame (MOHF) was created to honor individuals, both living and deceased, who made significant and lasting contributions to the restoration and conservation of Montana’s wild animals and wild places. The focus of the induction is to recognize Montana’s historical and contemporary conservation leaders and to capture the stories of these individuals in an effort to contribute to public awareness and education.

MOHF’s founding individuals and organizations participating include: Bruce Whittenberg and Molly Kruckenberg of the Montana Historical Society; Thomas Baumeister of Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks; George Bettas, Samantha Lavin and Jane Ratzlaff of Montana’s Outdoor Legacy Foundation; Dave Chadwick and Stan Frasier of the Montana Wildlife Federation; Laura Parr and Brian Sybert of the Montana Wilderness Association; Stan Bradshaw of Montana Trout Unlimited; Germaine White of The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation; and Jim Posewitz of the Cinnabar Foundation. Their initial enthusiasm for the idea led to the formation of a planning committee, working under a memorandum of understanding signed in December 2013. The founding organizations are pleased to announce MOHF is now a 501c3 nonprofit organization with its own bylaws, a board of directors, and opportunities for advancement. While the structure of the MOHF has changed, the effort will continue to function in close cooperation with the founding organizations.

The banquet inducting the 2020 class into the Montana Outdoor Hall of Fame will be held on Saturday, December 5, 2020 in Helena.

Are you passionate about Montana’s conservation history? Are you a leader who wants to give back to the community? If so, please consider learning more about serving on the MOHF board of directors. MOHF is looking for energetic and committed board members to help carry out the mission and create a vision for the future. Board members serve two-year terms beginning in January of each year.

For more information contact Thomas Baumeister, ED (contracted) at (406) 431-4326 or email mthalloffame@gmail.com



Board member bio here.

Charlie M. Russell’s “When the Land Belonged to God,” is the signature image of the MOHF and is used with the permission of the Montana Historical Society.